Espalion: what to do, what to see and what to visit?

Aux Portes des Monts d'Aubrac

Situated in the Lot valley, on the route to Santiago de Compostela, Espalion is the main crossroads town in northern Aveyron. The capital of Haut Rouergue, between the Causses and Aubrac, Espalion will enchant you with its rich heritage: the Château de Calmont d'Olt, the old bridge spanning the Lot, its museums, its old palace, its old tanneries, the Romanesque church of Perse, and much more! What can you do and see while staying at our 3-star campsite in Espalion? Follow the guide!

The Old Bridge

Listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Pont Vieux d'Espalion is the town's most emblematic monument. Built of pink sandstone in the 11th century, it once housed merchants and craftsmen. Now closed to traffic, it is used every year around 25 May to welcome herds on their transhumance to Aubrac.
The Old Palace

Built around 1572 by Bernardin de La Valette, governor of the Barony of Calmont during the Wars of Religion, the Vieux Palais is a Renaissance-style castle. It is the "picture postcard" of the town of Espalion, with the old bridge beside it. Note its mullioned windows, its pepperpot tower and its loggia overlooking the Lot. After the Revolution, it became a courthouse, hence its current name. Today, it is home to artists, with flats and exhibition rooms.

Village et centre de vacances et Camping à Espalion en Aveyron

The Place du Griffoul

The Place du Griffoul, between the Rue Droite and the bridge, was the town's main market square. Since the Middle Ages, it has undergone major transformations, with the construction of the Pont-Neuf, the demolition of the houses along the Lot and the creation of the Quai Henri Affre.

The old tanneries

On the right bank of the Lot, between the two bridges, are houses with corbelled wooden balconies. These are former tanneries or "calquières". The flat stones emerging from the water, known as "gandoulières", were used to tan and wash the hides.

The Musée du Scaphandre

Housed in the former Saint-Jean-Baptiste church, the Musée du Sc aphandre presents the inventions of Benoît Rouquayrol and Auguste Denayrouze, creators of the first self-contained diving suit in 1864, which inspired Jules Verne to write his novel "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea". The first trials took place in the Lot. Today, the museum exhibits rare and unique pieces, attracting specialists from all over the world.

Camping, centre et village de vacances à Espalion

The Joseph Vaylet Museum

The Musée Joseph-Vaylet is housed in the former Saint-Jean-Baptiste church, like the Musée du Scaphandre. This museum of popular arts and traditions displays traditional objects from 19th-century Rouergue culture: furniture, kitchen utensils, musical instruments, craft tools, pottery and religious objects, including a rich collection of bedside fonts.

The Rouergue Museum

Located in the former prisons 5 minutes from the Saint-Jean-Baptiste church, this museum houses collections devoted to the customs and traditions of Rouergue in the 19th and 20th centuries, including toys, books, pottery and religious objects. Built in 1838, this prison was the first solitary confinement facility in France and closed in 1933.

The Chapel of the Brotherhood of Penitents

Built in 1700 and rediscovered in 2000, this chapel is a jewel of 18th-century Baroque art, located in the historic centre of Espalion. Inside, you can admire a wealth of beautifully restored 17th and 18th century furnishings, including a gilded wooden altarpiece depicting the Circumcision of Christ (listed as a historic monument), a painted wooden Lying Christ and a rare Christ on the Cross in cartapesta (papier-mâché).

Village,centre de vacances et camping à Espalion en Aveyron

The Romanesque church of Perse

Built between the late 11th and early 12th centuries, the church of Perse was Espalion's main church until the construction of the church of Saint-Jean-Baptiste in the 16th century. Its chevet, surmounted by a bell-wall pierced by four arcades, is particularly remarkable. The sculpted portal, with a tympanum depicting Pentecost and a lintel evoking the Apocalypse and the Last Judgement, is also well worth a visit.

The Maison d'Assézat

On the Place du Puits, this Renaissance-style building is the birthplace of Pierre Assézat, a wealthy 16th-century pastry merchant. He built the Hôtel d'Assézat in Toulouse, now home to the Fondation Bemberg and the Union des académies et sociétés savantes.

Camping et village de vacances à Espalion en Aveyron

Calmont Castle

Château de Calmont is the oldest fortified castle in Rouergue. Construction began in the 11th century. Perched on a basalt peak at an altitude of 535 metres, it towers 200 metres above the town of Espalion and the Lot valley. Its silhouette leaves no doubt as to the military purpose of its ramparts, built during the Hundred Years' War. This medieval castle is a must-see not only for its ancient stones, but also for its events throughout the year: guided tours, trebuchet shooting, archery demonstrations, etc.
https://www.chateaucalmont.org

DID YOU KNOW? Espalion is a small town in northern Aveyron with a population of around 4,500. Espalion enjoys an unspoilt environment in the heart of the Lot valley and at the foot of the Monts d'Aubrac. A town that symbolises the gentle way of life, Espalion is nicknamed the "first smile of the south", which contrasts with the austerity of the Aubrac.

Village, camping et centre de vacances à Espalion
Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalionv Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion Visitez Espalion

Click on the themes below to find out more about our services:

- holiday villages for families, couples and groups of friends
- the holiday centre for classes, camps, training courses and seminars
- the Roc de l'Arche campsite for camping enthusiasts, with mobile homes and pitches for tents, caravans and camper vans.